My Adventure into Software Engineering

As I look back at my educational experiences, I can see a theme. It is my love for coding, and how I gravitate back to it despite any setbacks. In high school, I took a Visual Basic class which went well. Then in college several years later, I took Java 1 and Java 2, along with a Database class. Then I ended up switching majors since I also loved Psychology. In the end, though Software Engineering won.

I have been studying at a trade school for Software Engineers since October 2020, and I have learned so much in a short period of time. In addition to learning JavaScript, HTML, CSS, and React JS, I have learned to use version control systems(Git) the BASH and ZSH shells, other useful component libraries, and most importantly how to take a large problem, break it down into manageable pieces and then solve it. I have also learned how to make meaningful comments and commit messages.

After six months I earned a Front-End Web Development Certification, and currently, I am learning Python. Starting in August, I will spend three months learning Django, a Python framework. After those three months, I will have a Full-Stack Developer Certification.

It has been quite an adventure for me, giving me something challenging and meaningful to do. I absolutely love what I do. I get up in the morning looking forward to learning more and collecting ideas for projects. I am keenly interested in web accessibility and voice-controlled games. I want to make games for use with Alexa, Siri, or Google. I get excited when I think of all the things I do now and will do in the future, thanks to my educational experiences.