Time to Reevaluate

Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

Time to Reevaluate

I have a confession to make, I have fallen off the wagon. When I began learning to code, I wanted to spend all of my time coding. But after graduating from a software engineering program, I slowly let other life events take priority over coding. Before I knew it I was out of practice and forgot many of the things I used to use on a daily basis.

Through this experience, I have learned that it is imperative for a software engineer to keep those skills sharpened and use them daily. I learned this the hard way, but I am trying to make up for lost time and practice daily. I use CodeWars and FreeCodeCamp to refamiliarize myself with concepts I forgot. I also am working on some projects, two of which are in the debugging phase.

Last fall I started the #100DaysOfCode challenge but failed to complete it. So now I will commit to doing 100 days of coding again, and I will see where that takes me. There is no time like the present and right now I am embarking on a journey in which I will do some coding every day and build a habit that will last.

Has anyone else had this issue? What did you do to refresh your skills? What advice can you give? I would love to hear about your experience.